About this Handbook

This “handbook” is my attempt to document my way of doing things as an engineer, manager, and startup founder. It’s not necessarily The Right Way, but it’s what I’ve found to be most effective so far in my career.

It’s divided into four sections currently.

  1. Opinion == my opinions on eng and product;
  2. Coding == best practices on how to code, especially as part of a team;
  3. Planning == how to product manage and plan a project;
  4. Hiring == how to hire at startups.

I’m documenting this mostly for myself. But maybe you’ll find it useful too. You might also think my points are wrong, misguided, etc. That’s great – I love feedback and very much consider this a work in progress.

WHO AM I?

I’m Zach Lloyd. I’m currently the founder and CEO of Warp, where we are building a modern Rust-based terminal. I used to be a Principal engineer at Google, running the Google Sheets team. Post-Google I was the Co-Founder and CTO of the venture-backed startup SelfMade, and the interim CTO at TIME.

Email me at {my.name}@gmail.com or send me a message on LinkedIn.